TCC Blue textured background

TCC Distinguished Alumni

Epitomizing Excellence

The Tacoma Community College Foundation is excited to seek nominations for the Distinguished Alumni Award again this year. The award honors and celebrates alumni who have distinguished themselves with outstanding professional and personal achievements. Established in 2006, the Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes former students of Tacoma Community College who serve as role models for the next generation of community leaders. The categories for nomination are as follows:

  • Significant Career or Personal Achievement
    Nominees in this category have made significant career or personal achievement accomplishments. Their work and impact have established them as a leader in their respective field and they have been recognized for their exceptional achievement.
  • Significant Service to Tacoma Community College and/or the Community
    Nominees in this category have had an important impact through service to TCC or the local community. Their work and contributions have advanced the mission of TCC: As the community’s college, we create meaningful learning, advance equity, and strengthen student and community success. Nominees have demonstrated an extraordinary record of service to TCC or to the community in general.

Nominate a Distinguished Alumn

If you would like to nominate someone for the Distinguished Alumni award, fill out the nomination form by May. 5, 2023. You may also submit any additional materials such as a resume, news articles, brief letters of support from a nominee’s colleagues, and other materials.

A man in a suit smiling

Tony Lindgren - 2023

TCC is proud to recognize Tony Lindgren as its 2023 Distinguished Alumnus. Lindgren will be honored at the 57th annual Commencement Ceremony on June 17, 2023.


At TCC, Lindgren completed his Engineering program prerequisites and played on the 1996-97 Men’s Basketball team. After TCC, he earned his B.S. in Civil Engineering from Washington State University in 2002 and graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s Kenan-Flagler Executive Leadership Program in 2014. 


Lindgren is currently a partner at KMB Architects and serves on the MultiCare Health Foundation Board and the American Leadership Forum Board, as well as the TCC Foundation Board. He has been a member of the TCC Foundation Board since 2014, serving as President from 2017-2021, and will complete his term at the end of June. An exceptional leader and a great ambassador for TCC and the TCC Foundation, he has advanced many causes in support of our students, both at TCC and in the larger community. Lindgren has shown many in our community what it means to be an advocate, and has truly embraced the spirit of continuous learning. 


“Tony understands the meaning of community, and has connected so many people together for the success of our students,” said Ivan L. Harrell, II, Ph.D. “He continues to give back to Tacoma and to TCC, and we are honored to recognize him for his leadership and service.” 

Past Honorees

2022 - T'Wina Nobles

2019 - Mari Leavitt 

2016 - Andre Stout

2015 - Ali Criss, Financial Advisor

2015 - Vernelda Savoy, Managing Nurse

2014 - James Curtis, Attorney

2014 - Chris Anderson, CEO 2bridges

2013 - Connie Ladenburg, City Councilor, Congresswoman, Social Worker

2012 - Dave Burmark, High School Counselor

2011 - Dr. Walter Nolte, University President

2010 - Ed Troyer, Law Enforcement

2009 - Jim Walton, City Manager

2008 - Fred Stabbert, Businessman/CEO

2007 - Brian Sonntag, Banker, County Clerk, Auditor

2006 - John Hall, Financial Services CEO